India To Face Pakistan In The T20 2021 World Cup On 24th October

India To Face Pakistan In The T20 2021

The 2021 T20 World Cup will run from 17th October to 14th November. The ICC announced the schedule on Tuesday, and India will be starting their T20 World Cup match against Pakistan on 24th October. Both the teams are falling in group 2 of the super 12 stages with two other teams. After the clash between India and Pakistan, Pakistan will then meet with New Zealand on 26th October in Sharjah. Afghanistan will be taking on the winners of Group B from the first round.

India to play four Games in Dubai

After the India vs. Pakistan match, India will meet New Zealand on 31st October in Dubai, which will be followed by their match against Afghanistan on 3rd November. After the battle, India will be led by Virat Kohli against the winners of Group B on 5th November in Dubai. According to the schedule, the group will finish on 8th November, and then India will meet with the second-placed round 1 qualifier from Group A.


The first semi-finals will take place in Abu Dhabi on 10th November, and then the second semi-finals will happen the following day. On 14th November, the finals will take place as all-day matches are scheduled to happen at 14h00 local time. On the other hand, the day-night games are planned for 18h00 local time.

The Final

On 14th November at 6 pm local time, there will be a clash in Dubai as the qualified teams will be battling to take the trophy home. There is a reserve day for the final. Oman will take the honor of hosting the T20 World Cup 2021 after four years since 20216.

The Captains’ thoughts about the match

Kieron Pollard, West Indies captain, had a lot to say about the T20 World Cup 2021 schedule. He mentioned to the press that he was excited to defend the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title. He said that the players would each have the opportunity to push the boundaries as they showcase their prowess in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

He went on to add that they have an interesting team for the Super 12 group. They are ready to offer their fans the most exciting game of the season.

On the other hand, Babar Azam, Pakistan captain, went ahead to say that the announcement of the schedule alone was a go signal for them. Their players are super excited, motivated, and enthusiastic, waiting for the opportunity to showcase their superiority to the world.

The Groupings

Round 1

Group A: Namibia, Ireland, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands

Group B: Pipa New Guinea, Bangladesh, Oman, and Scotland

Two teams to top from each of the groups will proceed to Super 12s

Super 12s

Group 1: South Africa, England, West Indies, Australia, A1, and B2

Group 2: Afghanistan, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, A2, and B1

The two teams to win from each group will proceed to the semi-finals

The International Cricket Council gave permission to the countries participating in the T20 World Cup to have a total of fifteen players in their teams and add eight officials. The officials can vary depending on a team’s choice; they could be the support system, the couches, or the owners of the teams. By 10th September, the participating teams should send their list of 15 players and the eight officials to their offices for verification.

The Complete Schedule for Round 1

  • 17th October 14h00 local time, Oman will play against Papua New Guinea, and then Bangladesh will play vs. Scotland at 18h00 in Muscat
  • On 18th October, 14h00, Ireland will play against the Netherlands while Sri Lanka will be playing against Namibia in Abu Dhabi at 18h00
  • On 19th October, 14h00, Scotland will play against PNG as Oman plays against Bangladesh at 18h00 in Muscat
  • On 20th October, 14h00, Namibia will play against the Netherlands, while Sri Lanka will be playing against Ireland at 18h00 in Abu Dhabi
  • On 21st October, 14h00, Bangladesh and Papua New Guinea will battle it out as Oman and Scotland face each other at 18h00 in Muscat
  • On 22nd October, 14h00, Namibia and Ireland will face each other off as Sri Lanka and Netherlands playoff at 18h00 in Sharjah.